Alia Bhatt, Hrithik Roshan invited to join Oscars organization


A number of Indian film figures have been invited to join the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

The Academy oversees the Academy Awards, aka the Oscars, which is considered one of the most prestigious film accolades in the world.

In recent years however, it has been accused of lacking racial, cultural and gender diversity (Remember the #OscarsSoWhite movement from 2016?).

In a bid to improve on diversity, the Academy has issued membership invitations to 819 persons from all over the world.

They include Bollywood actors Hrithik Roshan and Alia Bhatt, documentary filmmakers Nishtha Jain and Amit Madheshiya, designer Neeta Lulla, casting director Nandini Shrikent, visual effects supervisors Vishal Anand and Sandeep Kamal.

On the Hollywood side, quite a few women have been invited to join: Eva Longoria, Cynthia Erivo, Ana de Armas, Zendaya, Awkwafina, and Constance Wu.

Several “Parasite” actors, including Jang Hye-Jin, Jo Yeo-Jeong, Park So-Dam and Lee Jung-Eun, also received invitations.

“Parasite” of course won the Oscar for Best Picture at the last Academy Awards.

Those accepting the invitation will be able to vote for next year’s Oscars, which will take place two months later than usual due to the COVID-19 pandemic.