T&T imposes restrictions on travelers from 8 African countries


    T&T has issued travel restrictions for persons coming into the country from eight African nations, including South Africa.

    This follows the recent identification of the COVID-19 Omicron Variant, which was named a Variant of Concern today by the WHO.

    Non-nationals who have been to any of the eight countries (see release below) within 14 days of arriving in T&T will not be allowed entry.

    Nationals who have been to any of these countries within 14 days of arriving in T&T must enter state-supervised quarantine for 14 days.

    The measures take effect from midnight tonight.

    See the Ministry’s full release:

    For more on the Omicron Variant, see the following Associated Press (AP) article: WHAT IS THIS NEW COVID19 VARIANT?