UNC refuses to concede until recounts are completed


    The UNC will not concede the 2020 General Election until recounts are completed for five marginal constituencies.

    This declaration comes today from the party’s PRO Anita Haynes.

    The recounts are due to take place for St Joseph, Tunapuna, La Horquetta/Talparo, San Fernando West, Toco/Sangre Grande.

    These will be carried out today and tomorrow.

    A recount will also take place in Tobago East following a request from the Progressive Democratic Patriots.

    The seat was contested by PDP Leader Watson Duke.

    Ms Haynes says the UNC has also taken note of a number of discrepancies at the polls, and will be sharing its findings with the Elections and Boundaries Commission.

    Ms Haynes led today’s media conference, and was accompanied by UNC General Secretary Dave Tancoo, and Deputy Political Leaders Kadijah Ameen and David Lee.

    Party Leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar was not present.