Andre Russell returns to West Indies T20 team

    (Photo Credit: Getty Images)

    Cricket West Indies’ (CWI) selection panel today named the 14-member squad for the upcoming T20 International Series against Sri Lanka. Andre Russell, the dynamic all-rounder, has been recalled to the squad along with fast bowler Oshane Thomas.

    Russell, 31, is a two-time ICC T20 World Cup winner, having played a crucial role in the triumphs back in 2012 in Sri Lanka and 2016 in India. He has successfully completed the CWI return-to-play assessment programme under the supervision of CWI Medical Team in his native Jamaica. He has so far played 47 T20Is for the West Indies.

    Thomas, who turned 23 earlier this week, is selected after making a full recovery from a car accident in Jamaica recently. Additionally, wicket-keeper/batsman Shai Hope has been included alongside left-arm spinner Fabian Allen.


    • Kieron Pollard (Captain)
    • Fabian Allen
    • Dwayne Bravo
    • Sheldon Cottrell
    • Shimron Hetmyer
    • Shai Hope
    • Brandon King
    • Nicholas Pooran
    • Rovman Powell
    • Andre Russell
    • Lendl Simmons
    • Oshane Thomas
    • Hayden Walsh Jr
    • Kesrick Williams


    Wednesday, March 4, 2020 – 7pm
    1st T20I at Pallakele International Cricket Stadium in Kandy

    Friday, March 6, 2020 – 7pm
    2nd T20I at Pallakele International Cricket Stadium, Kandy