Patriots win CPL 2021 after explosive Dominic Drakes innings

    (File Photo Credit: Sarah Chandoo/103.1FM)

    Dominic Drakes has taken St Kitts and Nevis Patriots to their first Caribbean Premier League title with an unbeaten 48 in the final against St Lucia Kings.

    Chasing 160, Patriots were on the backfoot early on, losing Chris Gayle for a duck and Evin Lewis for six.

    Joshua Da Silva and Sherfane Rutherford then put on 45 for the third wicket before another flurry of wickets brought Drakes to the crease.

    The son of Vasbert Drakes, known primarily for his bowling but sent up the order, then went on the offensive with the bat making 48 from just 24 balls – his highest ever T20 score.

    His innings took St Kitts to 160/7 with the winning runs coming on the last ball of the match.

    Earlier, Drakes took 1/38 as St Lucia Kings were restricted to 159/7 despite 43 from both Rahkeem Cornwall and Roston Chase.

    For the second year in a row, St Lucia will have to settle for second place after they lost to Trinbago Knight Riders in the 2020 tournament final.