Pooran and Ramharack added to Windies central contract list


    Trinidadians Nicholas Pooran and Karishma Ramharack have been added to the Windies list for the upcoming contract year for the first time.

    A total of 19 men and 15 women were retained and added to the contract year which runs from July 1st to June 30th next year.

    Pooran also joins first-timers on the list: Fabian Allen, Oshane Thomas and left handed opener John Campbell.

    Ramharack meanwhile also joins newcomers Shabika Gajnabi, Shawnisha Hector, Chinelle Henry, and Natasha McLean who have also earned central contracts to run for the same period.

    The number of centrally contacted West Indies women’s players however was increased from 12 to 15.

    Meanwhile, the number of ‘all-format’ contracts on the men’s side has been increased from four to seven, with Darren Bravo, Shimron Hetmyer and Keemo Paul joining Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph and Kemar Roach.

    Cricket West Indies (CWI) says contracts were offered to players who have achieved consistent performances for the Windies throughout the evaluation period of April 1st last year to March 31st this year.

    CWI Board policy it says allows up to 22 contracts to be offered each contract year to West Indies men’s players, so the Selection Panel may decide to offer additional central contracts throughout the year.

    Director of cricket for CWI Jimmy Adams said verbal offers had been made to all players, and contracts will be issued in the next few weeks.

    This is the third year that CWI will award central contracts to West Indies men under three different categories.

    All-format contracts are awarded to players expected to feature in Tests, ODIs and T20Is during the coming year.

    Red-ball contracts are given to players who predominantly play Test cricket and white-ball contracts are awarded to players who predominantly play ODIs and T20Is.



    All-Format Contracts: Darren Bravo, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Keemo Paul, Kemar Roach

    Red-Ball Contracts: Kraigg Brathwaite, John Campbell, Roston Chase, Shane Dowrich, Shannon Gabriel, Jomel Warrican

    White-Ball Contracts: Fabian Allen, Carlos Brathwaite, Sheldon Cottrell, Nicholas Pooran, Rovman Powell, Oshane Thomas

    New players offered contracts for 2019-20

    Fabian Allen, Darren Bravo, John Campbell, Sheldon Cottrell, Nicholas Pooran, Oshane Thomas, Jomel Warrican

    Players no longer on contracts

    Sunil Ambris, Devendra Bishoo, Miguel Cummins, Ashley Nurse, Kieran Powell, Raymon Reifer



    Players who retained contracts: Shemaine Campbelle, Shamilia Connell, Deandra Dottin, Afy Fletcher, Hayley Matthews, Chedean Nation, Shakera Selman, Stafanie Taylor

    New players offered contracts for 2019-20: Shabika Gajnabi, Shawnisha Hector, Chinelle Henry, Stacy-Ann King, Kycia Knight, Natasha McLean, Karishma Ramharack

    Players no longer on contracts:

    Merissa Aguilleira, Reniece Boyce, Anisa Mohammed, Akeira Peters